I Joined a Wine Club

10/06/2012 12:49

I joined a wine club a few months ago. I had always been rather a bore when it comes to drinking wine - going for whatever was the "in" thing - whatever my friends were drinking was fine for me. But then I watched a programme on the telly that showed me that there was a lot more to wine that just pulling the cork and slurping it down. I didn't know what to choose from the vast array at the supermarket, so I decided to give myself a treat and join a wine club. Now, each month, I get a selection of wines to try, along with information about where they're from, what grapes they're made of and the kind of flavours I should be able to taste. I'd say that my palate is far more refined, now. I'm the person selecting the wine when I go out with a group of friends!